Posted in banting, Breakfast, light meals, Snacks and Sandwiches

Home-made bread [gluten-free, banting-friendly, low-carb, LCHF]

That eureka moment hit me this past Monday when I baked this lovely bread. I found a banting bread recipe on a Facebook group and decided to try it out with my own tweaks here and there. The results: GLORIOUS. If you are gluten-intolerant but LOVE your bread then you know the struggle. This recipe is here to save you 🙂

banting cheesy bread
banting cheesy bread

As usual, it goes without saying that all the ingredients listed below are gluten-free, non-GMO, organic and all sorts of amazing.

http://

Ingredients: Makes One Loaf

400ml almond flour

50ml coconut flour

5ml baking powder

60ml ground flax seeds

5 large free-range eggs

250ml cultured buttermilk

pinch of salt

1 Tbs dried origanum

1Tsb dried sweet basil

1 Tsp cayenne pepper

1 handful of grated cheese (to be added to batter mixture)

1 handfuls grated cheddar cheese ( to be added on top of poured batter)

Method: (5 Minutes to Mix and 60 Minutes to Bake)

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Sift the coconut flour, almond flour, salt and baking powder into a bowl. Mix. Then add your eggs, buttermilk, herbs and handful of grated cheese cheese. Mix well with a fork. Then pour into a greased bread tin and sprinkle the remaining cheese on top. Bake for one hour in the oven. Remove from the oven and leave to cool. It is important to let it cool before removing from the pan and cutting it. Enjoy with stews, make toasted sandwiches or enjoy it as toast with your breakfast. The possibilities are endless.

toasted cheese banting sandwich
toasted cheese banting sandwich

 

Enjoy.

Author:

Thinker, feeler, Writer and aspiring healer. I am a slave to comfort and bliss, and believe that our dreams are our soft pillows when the world is too harsh. I sleigh dragons in my sleep and fight battles when I am awake. I believe in the power that resides in every human being and that if we just empower and strengthen eachother - we can build powerful nations of phenomenal people. Life is Amazing. Let's commit to it. :)

2 thoughts on “Home-made bread [gluten-free, banting-friendly, low-carb, LCHF]

  1. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death
    at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great site! http://www.yahoo.net

    Like

    1. Hey Kirsten 🙂

      Greetings from South Africa!

      Thanks for the love! I’m glad that you like it. Feel free to let me know what kind of recipes you would like to see and as my readers’ interests are important to me. WordPress is super friendly on mobile and I try and limit pictures so it doesn’t take forever to load. Keep well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

